Chat Write Man Woman

Working from Home

leave a comment »

What’s in my bag, originally uploaded by jda127.

A friend wrote a “what’s in your bag” post today. Given my moderate collection of bags–both handbag/purses and work/computer bags–and my tendency to tote pretty much everything but the kitchen sink around with me, I realized with surprise that I had never posted “what’s in my bag!”

I’m working from home today, so spreading out my stuff on the dining room table, cataloging it, and announcing to you all my intentions with the objects is going to be the (rather late) start to my work day.

The bag is relatively new. A birthday present from Dale and the girls, it’s a Betty bag from U.S.E.D. recycled seatbelt bags. It’s pretty heavy when totally full but damn is it nice. Holds everything, stands upright, has some wee pockets to keep small stuff organized and–since it is made of seat belts–totally indestructible. Today it holds:

  • iPad
  • The Witches, by Roald Dahl
  • Rose and the Beast, by Francesca Lia Block (both of which I’m teaching in my Children’s Lit course this semester)
  • a stack of grading slips, explaining essay grades to students in ChildLit class
  • two “to do” lists on 4×6 cards, each half done
  • valentines from my girls
  • one of my girl’s gift certificates to a local bakery. I’m just holding it for her, honest.
  • laptop (macbook pro, also new, which I luv)
  • case for cords and cables

Now that I’ve unpacked it all and powered up the computer, I shall state for the record that my intention today is to accomplish:

  • a draft of an exam for the ChildLit class. This course has 64 students in it and I just graded essays that were supposed to be 2-3 pages and clocked in generally at 4. I don’t need to read more essays! So I need to get creative.
  • an email to the class that gives them the format of the exam, once I’ve figured that one out.
  • and, oh boy, the biggie–start on the index to my book.

I’m going in. Wish me luck.

Written by Jennifer

February 19, 2013 at 8:24 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

