Chat Write Man Woman

Lost & Found

with 4 comments

In the past week, I have

LOST: one earring. One of my absolute favourites. I bought it at Goldmakers, in Lawrence, KS after ogling it for months. It was a “dangly” earring, with just a hook to keep it in the hole–no back to hold it on. I’m bundled up for the winter with sweaters, scarves, and a coat with a high collar. Evidently the bundling of all that warmth around my neck manages to work looped earrings up and out of their hole, whereupon they fall out and land in the slush on the street, side walk, or cafe floor. This is the fourth earring I’ve lost in this fashion since moving to Hamilton. Before last year, I think it had been ages since I’d lost anything off my person. Losing things is rather stressful, if I stop to think about it. Jewellery, given as gifts, bought because of style or affection, is personal and having it fall off my body seem sloppy somehow. Like something a little kid would do–a little kid who isn’t entirely in command of herself or her actions. Spazzy. I don’t think of myself as spazzy, or prone to losing things or spacing things off. Perhaps I should invest in a bunch of those little plastic backs to keep my earrings in place. Or maybe it will warm up soon and my scarves won’t struggle with my jewellery for purchase on my neck. 

FOUND: 

–one toonie, while out walking the dog

–one small bowie-style knife, in an unused seminar room during a meeting

–one rather precious lady’s ring. It’s silver and, while the gems might be CZ and fake pearl, it looks like it means something to someone. 

I pocketed the toonie and used it to buy a muffin the next morning on my way to work. Thanks, stranger who is now $2 poorer!

The knife I dropped off at a campus office. Special Constables came by and picked it up. They’ll keep it in lost and found until someone claims it. I checked with them about two of the earrings–no dice. 

The ring I just found this morning. I’ve made up a “FOUND” sign and will hang it up in the parking garage where I found the ring. I hope the woman who lost it goes there again tonight and can claim it from me. It means something to her, I’m sure of it.

Obviously, I’m hoping that by trying to reconnect objects with the people who’ve lost them, I’ll get some sort of gold star from the universal karmic balancing service. Maybe the next time I lose something, it will find its way back to me!

Written by Jennifer

February 7, 2013 at 12:53 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Obviously, I’m hoping that by trying to reconnect objects with the people who’ve lost them, I’ll get some sort of gold star from the universal karmic balancing service.

    Oh, boy, do I get this! I worry about the people who have lost things I’ve found all the time! In my experience, most people are like this – certainly the people at my gym are. I can’t tell you how many lost ‘n found experiences I’ve had there!

    shejustaintright

    February 7, 2013 at 2:03 pm

  2. I’ve lost a couple of earrings in similar circumstances, both of them halves of a pair, both of them with sentimental value. I’m now putting in those little plastic stoppers to keep this from happening again.

    Jody

    February 12, 2013 at 12:39 pm

  3. My dad lost his WashU class ring. Decades later, a woman found it in a parking lot and tracked him down through the inscription on the ring and the alumni office. That doesn’t help your earrings, but I hope that person got the karmic gold star.

    Bill

    March 27, 2013 at 2:19 pm

    • how awesome for your dad! The person who lost that fancy ring I found never called. 😦

      Jennifer

      March 27, 2013 at 2:24 pm


Leave a Reply

