Chat Write Man Woman

In Which I Play a Gym Rat

with one comment

In order to combat a chronic, recurring, annoying piriformis and ITB issue, I have acquiesced to the necessity of trips to the gym for the purpose of lifting weights. Thoroughly chastised by my long-distance chiropractor and my at-hand husband, I know the wisdom of their words. I am a fortysomething woman and, even if it were not for the nagging pain in my ass (literally), I know it is only wise to build muscle as I age–to counterbalance the inevitable effects of gravity and loss of elasticity and whatnot.

So I have a list of seven exercises: dead lifts, lunges, squats, one-legged squats, sit-ups on an exercise ball, hanging crunches, and cross body chopping/bailing thingies. (I guess that makes eight. I wanted to forget the lunges. But there they are.) I need to do these at least twice a week. Shouldn’t take me more than 20-30 minutes to go through them all, so the time commitment is not what needles me. I resist this because, having just gone through a set not an hour ago, I feel so damn awkward! Unbalanced and floppy and weak and oh-so-uncool. I realize the point of doing them is to not be unbalanced and floppy, so I shall persevere. The uncool thing is probably beyond help at this point.

But I need a gym buddy. Even a virtual one. You wanna go lift, or something? 😉

Written by Jennifer

March 26, 2012 at 1:57 pm

Posted in sports

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I will be your virtual gym buddy! I’m not ashamed to say that I took weightlifting for credit in college. It’s actually come in handy in the last few years. We were really good about going to the gym in the winter but once the weather turned nice it all fell apart. Happens every year. That being said, I became a huge fan of the Nike Training Club app for iPhone (free, of course). It’s provided me with great variety and most importantly, videos! I need to see people doing these crazy things before I try them myself. Plus, just about everything can be done at home if you have a few hand weights and maybe a medicine ball. Although I was “that girl” at the gym this winter, carrying my phone around as it silently barked orders at me.

    Andrea

    April 16, 2012 at 9:08 pm


Leave a Reply

