Chat Write Man Woman

Listening to the Library

with one comment

I commute to work now. I’m not in the car for very long, about 30 minutes or so. But for an hour a day I sit in my car and listen to things. Although it is hard to imagine, I do get my fill of knitting podcasts after a while and I wanted to do something useful with my time, other than add up a list of yarn and patterns I should go out and buy. So I re-started my subscription to Audible.com and have been downloading a book per month there. My parking lot is next to the public library, so when my Audible book comes to an end, I have been perusing the shelves in the library for inspiration.

In this fashion I have listened to Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, a lovely, sweeping, magical book by Susanna Clarke that filled my days with happiness for over a week. That sucker was loooong. A rather throwaway novel, The Railroad Detective by Edward Marston, followed that one. It provided a pleasant audible backdrop to my commute, without requiring too much active thinking. Whereas Clarke’s book had language and scope and cleverness, The Railroad Detective was pretty straightforward. Staying in Britain, I also listened to The Suspicions of Mr Whicher, a non-fiction work about a nineteenth-century child murder and the early years of Scotland Yard. It was so well written, I forgot it was non-fiction for long stretches!

The next listen jerked me violently out of the British Isles and into Panem. After putting The Hunger Games aside when I was supposed to read it and pleading squeamishness, I finally listened to it during my commute. It made me cry on the way to a meeting. Damn tears.

Written by Jennifer

February 2, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Posted in books

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Agreed – audiobooks fill up a commute like nothing else. After reading Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood years ago (in print format), I’m currently listening to Little Altars Everywhere. Reserving judgment at the moment. The best audiobook I’ve read in a long time was My Year of Meats by Ruth L. Ozeki. This was a public library impulse browse checkout. A great story; also a great performer – wry, funny, sarcastic. Further proof that, for me, the reader makes or breaks the audiobook.

    Jamene

    February 2, 2012 at 3:31 pm


Leave a Reply

