Chat Write Man Woman

Tour de France

with one comment

Watching the cyclists in the Tour de France as they embark on the mountain climbs of the alps always makes me jittery. I always have a favorite going into the last weekend of the race and I can die a million deaths as I watch a favorite crack on a steep slope or jump out of my chair when a particularly daring attack succeeds. This year’s Tour has been full of chair jumping moments–Thor Hushovd winning a mountain stage (whaaa?) and Thomas Voekler spending ten days in yellow and hanging with the big boys on the Galibier. (His stunt in 2004 remains fresh in my mind. Have you ever seen a rider turn himself inside out like that? Bon Courage, Thomas!)

This morning Dale stayed home (to work form home, natch) with me to watch the live coverage of Stage 19–Telegraphe, Galibier, and Alpe d’Huez all in one nasty, brutish and short stage of monster climbs and epic descents. Last night, while watching Contador crack like an egg on the Galibier, I finished all but the fiddly bits of my current knitting projects and this morning I had nothing–NOTHING–to keep my jittery hands busy while the race was on. So I decided to wind cotton yarn into a center-pull ball with one eye and both hands while my other eye was watching the boys on the hill.

This was the result:

I finished unraveling this mess during the Time Trial the next day. . . . oy.

(Obviously, this post is a bit tardy. Sick kid and sick me this weekend sort of cut things off. For the record, I entered the Tour a total Andy Schleck fan and was impressed by the Leopard-Trek tactics the whole way. But since I’m a Tour fan more than a fan of any particular rider, I switched to the doomed-from-the-start Team Thomas when he garnered yellow. I was a sucker for him in 2004 and remain so today. Cadel grew on me–he seemed so much less pinched this year and really, really fought for it on Galibier. He deserved the win. And, Contador, the Doper, went home empty-handed, which is as it should be.)

Written by Jennifer

July 25, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Posted in cycling, knitting

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Live coverage. I’m jealous. We don’t get Versus and NBC stopped caring about the Tour after the first two stages before picking it up again in Paris. I was pulling for Andy Schleck, but Evans certainly earned it.

    Bill

    July 25, 2011 at 3:46 pm


Leave a Reply

