Chat Write Man Woman

A Poem

with 3 comments

A Haiku to the Bota Box

Recycled cardboard
Sits on my countertop
Spilling forth goodness.

Since I have determined that not every day can (or should) be a Manhattan (with figgy bourbon) day, my most recent trip to the liquor store involved the purchase of my favorite boxed wine.

BOXED WINE!!?? I hear you scream.

Bota Box, which advertises itself as the wine to take camping, serves very well as the wine to sit on the counter and await your vessel of choice, be it paper cup of cut crystal. Their Shiraz is a totally respectable red table wine (and I can see from their site that it has won awards! Box wine awards, but still . . . )

Today I also bought the (newer) Riesling. I was hosting a wee get together and needed a red and a white. Since the crowd at my place tends to be rather Germanophile, I opted for the light blue box of melony sweetness pictured here:

This is not the world’s most fabulous Riesling, but it is very adequate party wine and fits the bill for that glass of wine you sip on while toiling over a hot stove at dinner time.
The most lovely thing about these boxes, other than they provide good table wine for super cheap prices (I got each of these boxes for under $18 and they represent 4 bottles of wine per box) is that the wine is preserved inside a plastic bladder within the box. As you dispense the wine, the air is sucked out of the bladder, leaving the remaining wine unexposed to oxidation and drinkable. Thus, the single mom feels no temptation to open a bottle and finish it all before bedtime.
Written by Jennifer

February 7, 2011 at 10:49 pm

Posted in dining

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Boxed wines are gaining in respect, and most importantly, taste. I’d recommend Black Box’s Malbec, if you can get it. It’s a dark red without heavey tanins making it an easy, fruity drink without the headache some reds (due to heavy sulfites) can cause. And it’s delicious!

    Liz Anderson

    February 8, 2011 at 11:34 am

  2. Thanks, Liz, for the tip. I have had headache issues with Bota’s Zinfandel, a pretty heavy red.

    Jennifer

    February 8, 2011 at 2:38 pm

  3. Love the haiku, but isn’t it missing a syllable in the middle line. The eternal Beavis and Butthead haiku lodged in my head says it is so.

    BTW, I mucked around with the formatting of this post to shorten it.

    Dale

    February 9, 2011 at 2:32 pm


Leave a Reply

