Chat Write Man Woman

Late to the Party

leave a comment »

I recently finished reading the Harry Potter series. I read the first three ages ago, when we lived in Utah. When I had read those and had to wait for the fourth book to come out, I lost interest and/or steam on the whole project. I had (and have) enough work reading and other “serious” literature to ingest that I didn’t need to keep up with the bestseller Joneses.

Dale read them all while he was in Germany. Greta started reading them and he wanted to be able to talk to her about them–it gave them good fodder for awkward Skype conversations. She stopped after the fifth book, as she realized that they were getting scary. She plans on picking up where she left off once she turns ten. Cute, no?

My impetus for joining the party was two-fold. Primarily, I figure I actually need to read them for work. A proposal I wrote for a presentation at the IRSCL conference in Brisbane in July 2011 centers around  the Leonie Lasker trilogy by Waldtraut Lewin. Reading Leonie’s tale, I couldn’t shake the feeling that Lewin borrowed some inspiration from Rowling. However, since I hadn’t actually read all of Rowling, I couldn’t put my finger on the nature of this inspiration. Since IRSCL is a children’s literature conference, you can bet that someone else will ask me about any parallels between the two series and I’ll need to know Harry in order to answer intelligently. So, there’s reason number one.

Reason number two is that Dale and I saw Deathly Hallows part 1 over Thanksgiving and it didn’t suck. But I had a lot of questions and he told me to stop bugging him and read the damn books.

I need to finish the Leonie Lasker trilogy and assemble my thoughts there. I am not going to write a piece that compares the German series with Harry Potter, or not primarily. Leonie needs to collect signs and help her auntie make a Golem–even better than destroying Horcruxes with basilisk fangs, if you ask me.

One thing I do hope for Lewin’s books: no snakes.

Written by Jennifer

January 1, 2011 at 10:00 am

Posted in books

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

