Chat Write Man Woman

Clean sheet of paper

with 3 comments

The semester is upon us. Having a career in education means that, even as I approach 40, the rhythms of the school year set the seasons for me. It has been blazing hot here in Kansas, but the university calendar says that Fall is here and I comply.

I love the start of school, always have. When I was a young person, I perused catalogs and looked at cute outfits I would never wear or couldn’t afford, or both. I looked forward to scheduling my classes, having something productive to do with my day, seeing friends. I adored buying school supplies. All those clean notebooks, folders, fresh pens–they were just full of possibility and promise. I was going to be BRILLIANT this semester, this year.

So it remains. Whereas others set forth their resolutions on January 1 of each year, late August is the season for me to decide where my priorities lay, what I want to show for my work in December, and how I am going to schedule that all in.

This semester I am going to:

  • write the introduction to my book
  • train for a second marathon
  • work on advanced yoga with my teacher
  • enjoy having all four members of our family together again

My folders are set up, my syllabi on-line, my training plan dialed in. Wish me luck.

Written by Jennifer

August 17, 2010 at 3:40 pm

Posted in life

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like a full plate…best of luck!

    Robbie

    August 18, 2010 at 5:27 pm

  2. Don’t forget — make it to Kansas City to eat Viennese food and drink Gruener Veltliner! 😉

    Brenda

    August 22, 2010 at 2:25 pm

  3. Brenda reminds me–I need to add “visit friends in KC and St. Louis” to my list. Drinking Gruener Veltliner and Schlafly’s beer are crucial to the success of my overall semester strategy!

    Jennifer

    August 22, 2010 at 2:33 pm


Leave a Reply

