Chat Write Man Woman

Stranded Knitting

with 2 comments

It’s February, the Olympics are on, I’m swamped with work. But now seems a good time to share some things I like.

This is an image of the first third or so of my sister’s Christmas stocking. It’s a bit late. But not as late as the two I have still to knit for my nieces 🙂 The original pattern I’m working from (the New Ancestral Christmas Stocking, by Mason-Dixon Knitting) calls for this top portion to be knit in two colors: red and white. The green for the name, birth year, and argyle diamonds is to be duplicate stitched onto the stocking once everything is done. Duplicate stitch, I discovered with my brother-in-law’s stocking, is not my fave. So I’m going to strand the whole damn thing. This means this will be the thickest, warmest stocking ever to receive tubes of mini M&M’s come Christmas Eve. With three strands of yarn a part of or behind every stitch . . . . toasty Andes Mints, Mindy!

A view of the inside shows that my floats are not blue-ribbon, grade-A, super-duper, but they are coming alone nicely and I think the whole stocking will even out when I’m done knitting and it gets a wee soak. The fact that the public side of the stocking doesn’t look like a wrinkly, puckered old man encourages me that I might be able to try something along these lines with a garment intended for wear. Who knew?

Written by Jennifer

February 26, 2010 at 11:44 am

Posted in knitting

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Outstanding! Can’t wait to see it finished.

    Liz

    February 26, 2010 at 12:06 pm

  2. Thanks, Liz. This could take a while!

    Jennifer

    February 26, 2010 at 12:08 pm


Leave a Reply

