Chat Write Man Woman

It’s. . . magnetic?

with 2 comments

I am not a Barbie fan. I don’t find it worth the hassle to ban her from the house but I do cringe inwardly when the girls get Barbie for birthdays, as happened this week with G-girl. She got a beach bum Barbie, with bikini, sunglasses, and a brush–everything you’d need to prepare for a day of boys looking at you poolside. On top of that, she got a Barbie set, wherein Barbie plays the role of dog show judge and has three little pups she can run through an agility course. The course includes a stand with a hoop for the pups to jump through and a spring platform to facilitate said jumping. Barbie stands (supported by patented Barbie acrylic stand) on one end of the hoop platform, springing pup on the other end, hoop in the middle.
G-girl runs the pups through various parts of the course before she gets to the hoop portion. Then, she positions one little pup on his springboard, gives it a flip, and watches as he sails directly through the center of the hoop and lands smack dab in Barbie’s “arms” on the other side. She giggles and does it again. Again, pup lands in Barbie’s arms and stays put. Slowly, it dawns on G: the pups are each wearing little metal collars and they are *sticking* to Babs magnetic chest. Literally. M-a-g-n-e-t-i-c C-h-e-s-t.
How awesomely awful is that?

Written by Jennifer

May 18, 2009 at 9:14 pm

Posted in Kids, shopping

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t know that I’d be so hard on Barbie. I for one would drop fewer pieces of silverware were my chest magnetic. But it would be detrimental if I wore my handbag above the waist – credit cards and magnets and all.

    If it’s any consolation, our daughter had a Barbie for all seasons, and then some. As a high school student smack dab in the middle of her teen years, I’m proud of the self worth she has. She isn’t stick thin. She isn’t Ms SuperStar Sports. She’s got a belly and a bootie (her words) that she tells me she loves; and that’s OK by me. There is no residual Barbie-body stereotype in her. I believe it has more to do with the parent’s attitude about their own body, and nothing to do with Barbie.

    lizandrsn

    May 19, 2009 at 9:19 am

  2. I think you’re right, Liz, that a girl’s self-worth and body image have more to do with her parents’ body attitudes than with any toy that might wind up in the toy box. I focus on what my body can do and how it feels instead of on how it looks and hope that is the message that sticks!

    Jennifer

    May 19, 2009 at 9:23 am


Leave a Reply

