Chat Write Man Woman

Kürbiskernbrot

with 2 comments

Kürbiskernbrot, originally uploaded by jda127.

Two years ago or so, the NYT published a recipe for no-knead bread in their food section. (I’d provide the link, but I can’t get to the recipe anymore without buying the NYT on-line or some such silliness.) I cut it out and thought about it for a while but it took the recommendation of a friend here in town a couple of weeks ago for me to finally make it.

I used the step-by-step process illustrated by the Steamy Kitchen blog and immediately upped the ante. The original recipe calls for 3 cups of bread flour. White bread is boring. Steamy Kitchen uses 1/2 cup of whole wheat and I opted for a full cup. This pic here showcases my second loaf, to which I added a generous handfull of shelled pumpkin seeds.

It is fabulously tasty bread and the pumpkin seeds give it a little texture and crunch. Their flavor, mixed with the bread and topped with butter, transports me to Germany and is much cheaper than airfare!

Written by Jennifer

April 26, 2009 at 10:41 pm

Posted in German

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Boo Hoo for no recipe!

    Not that I am in favour of you paying money for it — or for back issues of the NYT.

    I am allergic to yeast – and when I read “no-knead” I automatically think “no yeast”, as well. Which I have discovered is not necessarily true.

    But that is a really, really good looking loaf of home-made bread!
    Well done.

    I was going to leave you my e-address, with an impassioned plea for the recipe – but having convinced myself otherwise – please do not send it to me if it has yeast as an ingredient.

    Janey

    Janey

    June 13, 2009 at 4:46 pm

  2. Janey–sorry for the bummer. It indeed has yeast in it–though a *very* small amount for a loaf of breakd (1/4 tsp).
    Jennifer

    Jennifer

    June 14, 2009 at 2:42 pm


Leave a Reply

