Chat Write Man Woman

Bikes and schools

with 2 comments

Well, after drooling over the Rücktritt Tauglich, I quickly moved on to another infatuation. I had asked the friendly folks at Rücktritt to call around and see what they could find in the way of a single-speed machine. Amazingly (customer service in Germany varies a bit, to say the least), I got a call a few days later with the good news. They had found what I sought, and from a regional manufacturer no less. It’s a Volksrad, and the workers just bought the factory a while back, so I will ride knowing I supported some people taking care of their own business. Cheers to them! Now I just have to get used to the fact that I’m going to have to shell out major bucks to get an airline to fly it back to the States. I suspect we shall be quite fond of each other by then and I won’t want to sell it here. Oh, for the few bike types who read this, it not only has front and rear brakes, it has a coaster brake! No kidding. I may ditch the rear brake, since it seems extraneous.

The other big project I had this week–besides teaching my usual hellish load of classes (15 contact hours, countless more in prep time)–was visiting all of the elementary schools in the area. This was quite educational, since they are an entirely unknown quantity otherwise. Happy to find that schools here in the eastern states are a lot like those in the US, with child care both before and after school. It’s a much larger program, and they offer all sorts of activities in that time, from chess club to dance to art, etc. Really exciting prospect for the third grader in my life. Found one school I especially like, and two others that would be just fine, too. One school was really lame. The principal just didn’t seem to want to bother with me or my daughter.

Written by Dale

April 3, 2009 at 7:25 am

Posted in cycling, Kids, Leipzig, shopping

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t speak any German, of course, but I like the name Volksrad quite a lot. The coaster brake is cool in any language.

    Bill

    April 6, 2009 at 4:50 pm

  2. I like the name, too. One of my students here made the comment yesterday that she liked the bike but would remove that sticker. She finds it a freighted word in German. I grant her that, but am not German, and it’s not like it’s offensive or anything. In the US, it will just look like a play on Volkswagen, which is what was intended.

    Yep, a new bike with a coaster brake is hard to find in the US. It’s a lost piece of technology except for kids bikes, which is a shame. It’s hard to get used to them again. I’ve nearly ejected myself from my friend’s bike several times having forgotten I can’t backpedal.

    Dale

    April 7, 2009 at 8:46 am


Leave a Reply

