Chat Write Man Woman

Bike, hole in the head comes free

leave a comment »

I already own a lot of bikes, and were time and money no object, I’d own a whole bunch more. I love bikes, and can think of at least ten different kinds that I really need.

So I’m living in this bike-friendly place, and need to pick up a bike for my time here. My dream was to get a lean, mean single-speed city machine, the kind that is all the rage in the US right now (albeit sans fixed gear; I actually like being alive), but they turn out to be nearly unheard of here and very hard to find. If I had my shop at hand, I’ve seen at least ten frames that I’d love to convert into such a machine, but that’s a pipe dream.

So I decided to settle for second best and buy myself a sturdy, basic German Stadtrad (city bike). These are almost always black, have a rack on the back, full fenders (necessary here if one plans to ride to work and not look like a bike courier all day), and front and back generator-driven lights. Happily, I saw the perfect bike last weekend:

Rücktritt Tauglich

Rücktritt Tauglich

Nice shop, nice people, too. And really not terribly expensive either. Plan to go back and pick one up later this week.

If you’re one of my cycling friends, please don’t ask what this bike weighs. Just know that I shall return with massive thighs, which answers the question right there.

My fear is that I’m going to fall in love with this bike and then it will have to come home with me, at great expense. Such is the life of an addict.

Written by Dale

March 30, 2009 at 1:37 pm

Posted in cycling, Leipzig, sports

Leave a Reply

