Chat Write Man Woman

Into the breach

with 2 comments

Tomorrow I enter the German classroom for the first time as a faculty member, and I am either still doing an incredibly adept job at suppressing my anxiety, or I’m simply not that worried about things. Hopefully it’s the latter. At any rate, while I still feel underprepared and out of my element, the German semester starts slowly, and pedagogical style is such that it is OK to sort of find one’s way into the topic with the students. I think I had also overestimated the level of the students. It had escaped me for a while that the students I’ll see here are mostly what we would call undergraduates, so they really need basic introductions to many things.

German bureaucracy continues to extract its pound of flesh from me. I finally have health insurance, but have yet to apply for my residency permit, and at the rate it’s going, I may never have a bank account. I wonder if my employer could pay me in cash. That would be fun.

Otherwise, I’ve done precious little except sit around indoors, drink coffee and tea, and eat myself stupid. The weather is miserable, and I made the mistake this evening of looking at the forecast and, lo and behold, later this week it actually gets worse. It’s not that it’s that much different than crap weather in the US–after all, cold and wet is cold and wet–it’s the fact that it persists to the point where you really do feel like you are going to go off the deep end unless the sun shines on you, now! Were I footloose and fancy-free, I would so be on the way to Spain right now.

Written by Dale

March 16, 2009 at 4:59 pm

Posted in Leipzig

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think keeping in mind that they are, essentially, undergrads and that you know waaaay more than they do is probably a good idea. I’m interested in hearing how it goes and to what extent you think what you teach can be incorporated into a . . . . (shhhh) dissertation.

    Jennifer

    March 17, 2009 at 9:50 am

  2. Nice post! Keep it real.I have looked over your blog a few times and I love it.

    Our Insurance

    March 17, 2009 at 11:54 am


Leave a Reply

