Chat Write Man Woman

Just Breathe

with one comment

alternately: how one small breathing exercise can send me on a jaunt through my life in sound bites.

deep relaxation

In corpse pose in yoga today, we were told to relax our ujjayi breathing and just breathe “normally” in through our noses and out through our mouths. This requires, for me anyway, conscious thought. That got me to thinking: have I made the yoga breath more automatic? Is that slight constriction at the back of the throat easier and more natural for me now?

Which then got me to thinking: huh–if the constriction at the back of my throat is coming more naturally, does that, then, account for the “grunt-sigh” noise Dale insists I keep making when I’m stressed out or responding negatively to something?

The “grunt-sigh” got me to thinking about the “woof-shrug” that Daniel Coyle wrote about in Lance Armstrong’s War. “Woof-shrug” is the sound and body language combo emitted by Belgian cycling gurus who don’t want to humor you with an answer.

Coyle’s book inspired me to think about the book I am currently reading and loving, Michael Chabon’s The Yiddish Policemen’s Union, which, aside from being specatcularly well-written and enjoyable to read, is full of fun yiddish words, rendered in the American.

Yiddish, and how I pronounce it in my head while I read, led me to ponder German (since, duh, they’re related), whereby I wound up back at my job.

Do we all see why I sometimes have a hard time falling asleep at night?

Written by Jennifer

February 26, 2009 at 5:58 pm

Posted in books, cycling, life, sports

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

    Mike

    March 1, 2009 at 3:16 am


Leave a Reply

