Chat Write Man Woman

Harlot at the Tower

with 12 comments

 

Harlot at the Tower, originally uploaded by jda127.

It is true, dear Harlot readers. I was in London (not for the IKnit event, alas) and on my free day roaming the streets, I went to the Tower Hill area to take in the first stage of the Tour of Britain. I found some lovely older English gents to talk to about cycling and American politics. Suddenly, out of the corner of my eye, I see a clearly recognizable figure: the Yarn Harlot! I interrupt my conversation to accost her. I actually said out loud: Stephanie Pearl-McPhee and she swears she thought it was the voice of god talking. (She HAD just been to Westminster after all, perhaps the great spirit was paying attention to her?)

So, we took sock pictures and truly astonished those nice older British gentlemen. In all my fan-girl-ness I cannot tell you who won the stage.

It seems like the entire knitting blog world was in London this past week to see the Harlot and go to the IKnit event. I managed to see the Harlot and go to IKnit while missing the event entirely. Once you have sated yourself on Ysolde and cosmicpluto’s pictures of London, I shall return with some offerings of my own.

Oh–and I bought yarn at IKnit, too.

Written by Jennifer

September 10, 2008 at 1:01 pm

Posted in knitting, sports

Tagged with , ,

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. what luck to run into the yarn harlot. and excellent fan-girl instincts to get mutual sock photos! πŸ™‚

    Tracey

    September 10, 2008 at 1:16 pm

  2. What a treat it must have been to run into Stephanie that way!

    Mary Ann

    September 10, 2008 at 1:29 pm

  3. Isn’t Stephanie lovely? I met her at IKnit but you were were very brave to stop her in the street! Well Done!

    Janey

    September 10, 2008 at 1:39 pm

  4. The two photos are wonderful, you holding her sock and she holding yours. What luck to spot her in the crowd!

    Lauren

    September 10, 2008 at 2:46 pm

  5. THAT IS AWESOME! I came to you by way of the Harlot’s site…it really is a small world with knitters in it, isn’t it?

    wfuteach

    September 10, 2008 at 3:09 pm

  6. Holy Cow, how lucky are you to run into the Yarn Harlot out in the wild. She really is very nice and even more funny off of a stage.

    Debbie

    September 10, 2008 at 6:36 pm

  7. What a good blog find for me! A harlot fan knitter who also loves cycling. Awesome!

    Susan

    September 10, 2008 at 11:05 pm

  8. this made me laugh out loud. and you are so brave! i’m not sure i would have been able to get over my fan-girlness to chat with her (or any other blogger i read, for that matter).

    april

    September 11, 2008 at 12:22 am

  9. Love your sock pic – came via the harlots page. Sometimes it is solucky to be in the right place at the right time:)

    ginger_nut

    September 11, 2008 at 1:57 am

  10. Hi Jennifer!
    The Yarn Harlot brings many website hits! Keep up the good blogging!

    Lisa

    September 14, 2008 at 10:46 pm

  11. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. πŸ™‚ Cheers! Sandra. R.

    sandrar

    September 10, 2009 at 8:40 am


Leave a Reply

