Chat Write Man Woman

Not Elmo

leave a comment »

Angel Cake, originally uploaded by jda127.

Per the Princess’s request, an angel food cake with strawberries and whipped cream for her birthday.
My grandmother made this cake for me several years in a row when I was growing up. As a kid (loosely defined, I think this held true for me as a teen, too) I would have preferred Cool Whip, and grandma always used a box mix. As an overachieving adult, I made the cake from scratch (stiiiccckkkyyyyyyy but very very fun) and used real whipped cream.
So: take a dozen egg whites and some sugar. Do the thing you do with them. Oh, and a wee bit of flour to hold it all together. Bake it til spoingy. Cool. Slice into three layers. Nifty trick is to turn the icky top layer upside down, so that the part of the top of the cake my knife took a huge chunko out of doesn’t show and the top is all white and fluffy pretty.
Now, Dale tells me I should have mixed the strawberries and whipped cream together, maybe even added a bit of red food coloring, to make it all PINK. However, I went the purist route and just layered: cake, whipped cream, strawberries, cake, whipped cream, strawberries.
Awesomeness. Of course, the transport was a bit of a challenge. Next time: hold layers together with skewers!

Written by Jennifer

May 2, 2008 at 3:52 pm

Posted in Kids, life

Leave a Reply

