Chat Write Man Woman

100 things

leave a comment »

So there’s this meme that’s been making the rounds for a while of listing the 100 things you want to do before you kick off, and I love nothing more to join trends when they’re already in full swing. I like the security of not having to explain what I’m doing.

I may not make it to 100. I’d like to think this is because I’ve lived such a hot and daring life that I’ve already done most of the list: use illegal drugs behind the Iron Curtain [n.b. – no longer possible], check; learn a foreign language, check; climb a very tall freestanding stone pinnacle, check. Really, however, it may just be a lack of imagination. At any rate, here goes, at least the first 30:

  1. Be present at (at least) one of my daughter’s PhD/JD/MD graduation.
  2. See my children grow up to vote Democratic.
  3. Skydive.
  4. Complete a 200K skating marathon.
  5. Ride the Triple Bypass.
  6. Ski again like I used to on my repaired knee.
  7. Toast my wife’s tenure decision.
  8. Write a book.
  9. Travel to Japan.
  10. Learn another foreign language well enough to speak.
  11. Climb Denali.
  12. See at least part of South America.
  13. Lead a library.
  14. Build a wheelset from scratch.
  15. Learn to play the piano.
  16. See my children meet their life partners.
  17. Hug my grandchildren.
  18. Make a batch of all-grain beer.
  19. Spend time in Iceland.
  20. Learn how to use a camera better.
  21. See the Tour de France.
  22. Preride the Tour de France.
  23. Do the Paris-Brest-Paris ride.
  24. Dance the tango in Buenos Aires.
  25. Go to Scotland.
  26. Get one more graduate degree.
  27. Live long enough to see liberal no longer be a pejorative term in my country.
  28. See lasting peace between Israelis and Palestinians.
  29. Live again in a place where cycling is the norm, not a freakshow.
  30. Host an exchange student to pay back the debt.
Written by Dale

March 26, 2008 at 11:36 pm

Posted in life

Leave a Reply

