Chat Write Man Woman

I want my star chart!

with one comment

You all know by now of my love for the iPod + Nano system by Nike. Although I haven’t gone far enough or fast enough this winter to hear Paula Radcliffe or Lance Armstrong congratulate me at the end of a run, I still do adore linking my iPod to my laptop and having it upload all my workout data to Nike’s site. I can go there and review my runs, my pace, my calories burned, etc., and seeing it all on screen like that is a nice visual representation of my progress and my fitness. It’s like a star chart for grownups. “See, you ran 3.2 miles. That brings your yearly total for 2008 up to 22 miles! Yay, Jennifer!”

So imagine, dear reader, how SAD I was yesterday morning at the gym when the transmitter dongle on my shoe refused to speak to the receiver thingy on my iPod! They simply would not talk to each other and the five minutes I wasted fiddling with it did not alter that one bit. I hit the treadmill anyway *sniff* but couldn’t help feeling that, since my Nike site would never know about this particular run, it might as well have never happened.

Written by Jennifer

January 17, 2008 at 10:05 am

Posted in sports

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I tried to come up with a funny remix of the old ‘If a tree falls in forest and no one is around to hear it…’ riddle, but couldn’t come up with squat. Damn Nike and Apple and their child labor practices! (resorting to political agitation to draw attention away from failed attempt at humor)

    Jim

    January 19, 2008 at 9:52 am


Leave a Reply

