Chat Write Man Woman

That funeral so rocked

leave a comment »

How’s that for a macabre opening? Recently, I was sitting at my desk at work, happily working away with my headphones on, when Led Zeppelin’s The Song Remains the Same came up in my iTunes shuffle. God, how I worship that song, among other Zep tracks. Truly one of the best rock songs ever penned. Really, I could listen to Houses of the Holy about ten thousand times in a row and not tire of it. In fact, I have. It was called my freshman year of college.

So it got me all pumped up, and I sent Jennifer an email using the fun little Firefox FoxyTunes extension to drop a “now-playing” blurb into my message. I informed her that she would please include this on the soundtrack at my funeral. This may be five or fifty years from now, but I threatened her with eternal haunting if she failed to meet my demands. In fact, I’m really set on there being a soundtrack at my funeral that does not involve mournful organ music, the kind that elicits extra emotions from people already teetering on the edge. Yes, I am assuming that at least a few people will mourn my passing. Perhaps that’s presumptuous, but a boy can hope.

Tonight during dinner we were listening to Beethoven’s Ninth (I can’t even type the name of that piece of music without getting emotional; I turn into a ridiculous crying mess when I hear An die Freude–Schiller was bat-shit crazy, but damn the boy could write poetry, and that Ludwig is no slouch) . I turned to Jennifer and said, ooh, add this to my funeral soundtrack, too. I think my new hobby will be to pepper her with suggestions for the entertainment at my memorial service. Having already covered the alcohol component–scotch, lots of it–I figure music is due for some attention. I’m serious folks. I’ve been to too many funerals, both for people distant and close to me (I’ve buried a parent, so I think I can claim some serious funeral cred), and oh how I so aspire not to have a funeral that celebrates my death, but rather the living part that came before. OK, enough of this morbid train of thought. Really, I plan to live as long as I can.

The great irony in all of this? We have no will. We have two children, a mortgage (and a fairly big chunk of equity), retirement accounts, etc., and no will. I even called TIAA-CREF a while back to take them up on a free will offer, getting a referral number for a local lawyer and all. Have I called said lawyer? No.

So, if you’re not put off my macabre thought exercises, what music would you like to ‘hear’ at your own funeral?

Written by Dale

October 22, 2007 at 8:57 pm

Posted in life

Leave a Reply

