Chat Write Man Woman

A wee break from the grind

with one comment

The Big Question for this vacation?? Will I make it through The Sound and the Fury without throwing it out of the tent for the bears to use as toilet paper? Stream of consciousness is not my favorite narrative position but even given that. . . I’m finding it so difficult to care about these people. So very difficult. I’m sure it has something to do with the whole Southern thing. I lived in the South. I sort of understand the South from an anthropological perspective, i.e. what makes the (old) South a distinct culture within the American mainstream. Problem is: I didn’t care then and I don’t care now and expressions, however artistic, of that distinct culture tend to leave me a bit cold. However, I shall soldier on, as Faulkner is an undisputed literary genius and I must bear witness. Wish me luck.

Written by Jennifer

July 24, 2007 at 11:40 am

Posted in life, summer reading

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ugh, you need to watch more South Park, evidently. The quote is “screw you guys, I’m going home.”

    dsa

    July 24, 2007 at 12:16 pm


Leave a Reply

