Chat Write Man Woman

Awesome job!

leave a comment »

My kids saw me cry a couple of weeks ago. I had suffered Grave Professional Disappointment that had me convinced I was on the slippery slope to Total Career Meltdown. They wouldn’t have understood. I tried to sum it up: Girls, someone told your Mommy that she didn’t do her job well enough. I wrote something and it wasn’t good enough. They told me it wasn’t good enough in a pretty snotty way. I’m sad about it. I’ll get over it but I’m sad now.

Greta replied: “Those people are stupid. You are the best in the world at your job.” She is six. She should know.

The other day, pretty much the exact opposite happened and I got some Lovely Professional News via Email. From a Publisher, no less. I figured I owed it to the kids to share my joy with them as well as my sorrow. I ran into the play room where they were catering a four-course dessert menu out of play-doh and gave them each a hug and told them that I had just gotten very good news. Someone read what I wrote and said I did a good job.

Greta: “See, Mom. I told you those other people were stupid.”

Me: “Greta, we don’t use that word. But thank you.”

As I walked back to my book and my chair, I heard Ingrid chanting: “Someone did an AWESOME job. Someone did an AWESOME job.”

Isn’t it great to know that your kids have got your back?

Written by Jennifer

June 24, 2007 at 11:39 pm

Posted in Kids, life

Leave a Reply

