Chat Write Man Woman

You are what you drive

with 2 comments

I was riding home the other day musing on the car choices people make. It occurred to me that I know very few people who drive an urban assault vehicle, even though it sometimes feels like 50% of the cars on the road are bigger than our first house. Mulling it over further, it seemed simple. In general (there are always exceptions, some of whom are related to me), people who drive these gigundo vehicles are clearly not concerned with things like, oh, global warming, wars fought over controlling oil supplies, the air we breathe, and so on. In other words, Republicans. Driving around in a 6,000 pound behemoth with 350hp is like driving around giving the finger to anyone who is acting responsibly with resources, such as building a green house, choosing to drive a fuel-efficient car, using compact fluorescent bulbs, and so on. No wonder I always have the urge to show anyone driving a Hummer, Yukon, Expedition/Excursion, and similar land barges my middle finger(s).

Sure, some people drive large trucks for work purposes. Living in semi-rural Kansas, I see a lot of dualie pickups covered in mud and beat to hell, and think, hey, that’s a truck being used as a truck, not a status symbol or a phallic enhancement. I love the excuses I hear from people for driving around, alone, in a vehicle that gets 12 mpg: it’s ‘safer.’ Right, just like carrying handguns makes us all safer, right? See, there’s that Republican thinking again. How selfish is this thinking? Sure, if you hit me with your tank, I die a grisly death and you get a broken arm, maybe, but there are other things to consider, such as the aforementioned need to breathe air and not watch our coastlines recede annually. Besides, it’s illogical. If we all drive behemoths, no one is safe. And, really, talking on the phone and/or driving like a dipwad is what makes driving unsafe, not the size of your vehicle.

Am I wrong to hate urban assault vehicles?

Written by Dale

February 28, 2007 at 10:58 pm

Posted in politics

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re not wrong to hate assault vehichles. They can be scary and dangerous, as can the drivers of said vehicles.

    I know this is a serious post, but I couldn’t help laughing. I grew up in a non-republican family that had giant vehicles with handguns under the driver’s seat. Funny to me!

    coles14

    March 1, 2007 at 3:13 pm

  2. As I said, there are exceptions!

    dsa

    March 1, 2007 at 4:13 pm


Leave a Reply

