Chat Write Man Woman

A new recipe for family harmony, or: Steve Jobs is brilliant

with one comment

I bought new headphones for my iPod yesterday. The Sony headphones I was using were too big for my ears and didn’t reliably stay on during runs and were, therefore, annoying. I bought Phillips clip-on earphones that advertised themselves as fully adjustable for smaller ears. Greta spied them this morning and asked to try them on. She has tiny ears and they fit her well enough. (Not well enough to run a 5k in, but there’s little danger of that.) Then, of course, she had to use them and not just wear them as some sort of tribal jewelry for a five year old. So, I plugged them into my iPod, selected a playlist offering only a few offensive or obscene songs, and strapped it to her skinny arm. She asked me to adjust the volume for her, which I did through the sleeve it sits in while strapped to her arm. I didn’t explain what I was doing or talk to her about it or show it to her. Next thing I know, she’s adjusting the volume using the touch wheel all by herself. Now she wants to know what the button in the middle does……

I figure that if a 5-year-old kid, who doesn’t have a gameboy, and who, before her entrance into kindergarten, hadn’t ever really touched a computer, can figure out some of the essential features of an iPod in about 2 minutes, then Steve Jobs deserves all of his filthy riches.

Oh, and she’s in the playroom quietly coloring, listening to Ralph Stanley and Lyle Lovett, while Ingrid naps. Bliss.

Written by Jennifer

February 25, 2007 at 1:55 pm

Posted in Kids

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What-no kidsbop?

    coles14

    February 26, 2007 at 2:30 pm


Leave a Reply

